Docs Build Bridges

With "Docs Build Bridges" we would like to give you the chance to meet other doctoral candidates at Kiel University. For this purpose we offer you the following services.

Here you can download our Docs Build Bridges leaflet as a PDF-file.

 

Conversational German: German language course

Target group: Doctoral candidates from abroad and their non-German partners

The course topics are chosen based on your needs: What do you need to get along better in German in your everyday life? Your questions about special topics and problems will be addressed. The main focus will be on pronunciation and speaking.

 

Doc Pilots: Organizational support

Target group: Doctoral candidates from abroad

The Doc Pilots offer doctoral candidates from abroad individual personal support in organizational matters (apartment search, childcare, dealing with the city administration, etc.) at the beginning of and during their doctoral studies at Kiel University.

 

Docs Get-Together: Get-to-know meetings

Target group: National and international doctoral candidates

You would like to spend a nice and relaxed evening with other young researchers, exchange your experiences and make new friends? Twice a month you have the opportunity to do so at the “Docs Get-Together”!

Once a year there’s a special “Docs Get-Together”:

 

Who let the docs out?: Summer party

Target group: national and international doctoral candidates

Since a doctorate and research are often very labour-intensive celebrate once a year the “Docs Build Bridges” summer party with you! We invite you to celebrate a productive first half of the year with other doctoral candidates during this little timeout.

 

Docs and the City: … and what is your favorite place?

Target group: national and international doctoral candidates

The photo exhibition „Docs and the City – Places and Faces / Mein Kiel! – Lieblingsplätze Kieler Doktorand_innen” presents a diverse kaleidoscope of favourite places that have a special meaning for doctoral candidates from Kiel University. Places where they feel particularly welcome, that are little spots of “Heimat” (home away from home). This very personal collection of favorite places invites you to experience your city in a new perspective.

Current exhibition: 15. March 2017 – 25. April 017 at Kiel City Hall, Fleethörn 9, Room 184

 

Docs Know How!: Exchange of knowledge and competences

Target group: national and international doctoral candidates

Through this platform you can help each other with expertise, experience and collegial support. Apart from that there are events and workshops by and for doctoral candidates about different topics.

 

Docs Talks: Intercultural exchange

Target group: national and international doctoral candidates

You would like to present your culture to other doctoral candidates in an event format chosen by yourself? Or do you deal – e.g. during your doctoral reserach – with a foreign culture and you would like to share your knowledge? Cultural models, perspectives or recommendations – we are interested what culture means to you.

 

M.O.I.N.!: Language tandem

Target group: national and international doctoral candidates as well as staff members of Kiel University in administration and research

You would like participate in a language and cultural exchange with other (international) staff members of Kiel University? Within the scope of the language tandem “Meeting Other Interesting New People!” (M.O.I.N.!) you can practice listening to, understanding and speaking a foreign language in a relaxed atmosphere and expand your foreign language skills. Moreover the personal contacts between the tandem partners can build bridges between two cultures and due to joint activities friendships can develop.

 

Docs go Science Show: Learning to present

Target group: national and international doctoral candidates

By participating in the Science Show you can learn to give an audience outside of your subject area an impression of your exciting research done at Kiel University in short and comprehensible lectures.

 

Docs go TEDx: Project management in practice

Target group: national and international doctoral candidates

TEDxKielUniversity is an international conference organized voluntarily by students and doctoral candidates about topics with personal and social relevance. The event takes place in English in Kiel on a regular basis – along the way the talks are being recorded to make them available on the internet on the international TEDx YouTube channel to a wider audience afterwards. Become part of the organizing team and learn what project management means in practice!

 

The Docotral Candidates‘ Representation: Your voice!

Taget group: national and international doctoral candidates

The Doctoral Candidates' Representation is the voice of the doctoral candidates of Kiel University on the University committees Executive Committee and Advisory Board of the Graduate Center. Contact them, in case you have ideas and feedback about the activities of the Graduate Center or when you have questions related to your doctorate at Kiel University. They will pass on your feedback on to both University committees.

Docs Build Bridges

Unter "Docs Build Bridges" versammeln sich gleich mehrere Angebote, die für Sie geschaffen wurden und Ihnen Gelegenheit bieten sollen, mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen an der Universität in Kontakt zu treten.

Hier können Sie den Docs Build Bridges-Folder  herunterladen (pdf).

 

Conversational German: Deutschkurs

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem Ausland sowie deren nicht-deutsche Lebenspartnerinnen und –partner

Die Kursinhalte werden auf die Bedürfnisse der Teilnehmenden angepasst: Was brauchen Sie, um sich im Alltag auf Deutsch besser zu Recht zu finden? Es wird auf ihre Fragen zu speziellen Themen und Problemen eingegangen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf Aussprache und Sprechen.

 

Doc Pilots: Organisatorische Unterstützung

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem Ausland

Die „Doc Pilots“ bieten Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem Ausland persönliche Unterstützung bei organisatorischen Dingen (Wohnungssuche, Kinderbetreuung, Umgang mit Ämtern, etc.) zu Beginn und während ihrer Promotion an der CAU Kiel.

 

Docs Get-Together: Kennlern-Treffen

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland

Ihr wollt gerne mit anderen jungen Forschenden einen lustigen und entspannten Abend verbringen, euch über eure Erfahrungen austauschen und dabei neue Freundschaften schließen? Dazu habt ihr zweimal im Monat beim „Docs Get-Together“ die Gelegenheit!

Einmal im Jahr findet ein besonderes "Docs Get-Together" statt:

 

Who Let the Docs Out?: Sommerfest

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland

Da Promotion und Forschung oft sehr arbeitsintensiv sind, wollen wir mit euch einmal im Jahr bei schönem Wetter das “Docs Build Bridges”-Sommerfest feiern! Wir laden euch ein, während dieser kleinen Auszeit mit anderen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden ein produktives erstes Halbjahr zu feiern.

 

Docs and the City: Fotoausstellung

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland

Die Foto-Ausstellung "Docs and the City - Places and Faces / Mein Kiel! - Lieblingsplätze Kieler Doktorand_innen" zeigt ein diverses Kaleidoskop von Lieblingsorten, die für euch Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden eine besondere Bedeutung haben. Orte, an denen ihr euch besonders willkommen und zu Hause fühlt, die ein Stück „Heimat“ in der „Fremde“ sind. Diese sehr persönliche Auswahl von Lieblingsorten lädt euch dazu ein, ihre Stadt und deren Facetten neu entdecken!

Aktuelle Ausstellung: 15. März 2017 - 25. April 2017 (Rathaus Kiel, Fleethörn 9, Raum 184)

 

Docs Know How!: Austausch von Wissen und Kompetenzen

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland

Über diese Plattform können Sie sich gegenseitig mit Fachwissen, Erfahrungen und kollegialer Unterstützung weiterhelfen. Darüber hinaus finden Veranstaltungen und Workshops von und für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden zu verschiedenen Themen statt.

 

Docs Talks: Interkultureller Austausch

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland

Möchtet ihr anderen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden gerne eure eigene Kultur in einem selbst gewählten Veranstaltungsformat vorstellen? Oder beschäftigt ihr euch - zum Beispiel im Rahmen eurer Doktorarbeit - mit einer fremden Kultur und möchtet dieses Wissen gerne weitervermitteln? Ob kulturelle Vorbilder, Sichtweisen oder Empfehlungen für kulturelle Veranstaltungen - uns interessiert, was Kultur für euch bedeutet.

 

M.O.I.N.!: Sprachtandem

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland sowie alle Angehörigen der CAU aus Verwaltung und Wissenschaft

Sie haben Lust auf einem sprachlichen und kulturellen Austausch mit anderen (internationalen) Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, die an der CAU arbeiten und forschen? Über das Sprachtandem „Meeting Other Interesting New People“ (M.O.I.N.) können Sie in lockerer Atmosphäre das Hören, Verstehen und Sprechen einer anderen Sprache ausprobieren sowie ein besseres Gespür für die jeweils andere Sprache entwickeln. Darüber hinaus kann durch den persönlichen Kontakt zu den entsprechenden Tandempartnerinnen und –partnern auch eine Brücke zwischen zwei Kulturen und über gemeinsame Aktivitäten Freundschaften entstehen.

 

Docs go Science Show: Präsentieren lernen

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland

Im Rahmen der Science Show können Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden lernen, in kurzen und verständlichen Vorträgen einem fachfremden Publikum einen Einblick in ihre spannende Forschung an der CAU Kiel zu geben.

 

Docs go TEDx: Projektmanagement in der Praxis

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland

TEDxKielUniversity ist eine internationale, von Studierenden und Doktoranden ehrenamtlich organisierte Konferenz zu Themen mit persönlicher und gesellschaftlicher Relevanz. Die Veranstaltung findet regelmäßig in englischer Sprache in Kiel statt - währenddessen werden die Vorträge aufgezeichnet, um sie im Anschluss im Internet auf dem internationalen TEDx-YouTube-Kanal einem breiterem Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Werde Teil des Organisationsteams und lerne, was Projektmanagement in der Praxis heißt!

 

Doktorand_innenvertretung: Eure Stimme

Zielgruppe: Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem In- und Ausland

Wir vertreten eure Belange in den Gremien Leitung und Beirat des Graduiertenzentrums. Wenn ihr Ideen und Rückmeldungen zur Arbeit des Graduiertenzentrums habt oder Anliegen bezüglich der Rahmenbedingungen für eine Promotion an der CAU, nehmt mit ihnen Kontakt auf. Sie tragen die Belange der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in beide Gremien.